Skip a Step! - Cloned
How Do I Get a Class D Provisional License?
Provisional license with restrictions for drivers under 18 years of age. This is the second phase in the licensing process for Teen Drivers. The license is vertical and indicates the driver is under 21.
- You must be at least 16 years old
- Have held a Class CP Learner's Permit (Instructional Permit) for at least 1 year and 1 day
- Have had no major violations that resulted in the suspension of your learner's permit
- Have satisfied Joshua's Law Requirements
Plan AheadSkip a Step! - Cloned
If taking an Automobile, Motorcycle Skills, or CDL Road Test, don't forget to Schedule an Appointment.
Gather the required documents
Documentation showing your identity, residential address, full social security number, and U.S. citizenship or proof of lawful status in the United States. Please refer to Real ID Requirements for more information.
Be prepared to surrender your permit.
An ADAP or eADAP certificate of completion.
You must provide proof of school enrollment: (All documents must contain the first and last name of the customer.)
- A Georgia DDS . The form must be completed and dated within the past six (6) months;
- Transcript provided by the customer's most recent school of attendance (Transcript does not have to be certified); Transcripts can be printed online in most school districts.
- Most recent progress or grade report.
- A current school identification card issued by the school or school system.
- Other forms of school identification.
- If you are home-schooled, you must provide one of the following:
- A Certificate of Enrollment from the Georgia Department of Education.
- A “Declaration of Intent To Utilize a Home Study Program” filed with the Georgia Department of Education.
- If you are under 18 and not enrolled in school, you must provide one of the following:
- A high school diploma, GED, special diploma, certification of high school completion, or proof of enrollment in a GED program or a post-secondary school.
If you are 16, to satisfy Joshua's Law Requirement, you must bring a Certificate of Completion for the driver education course. The course must be completed at a DDS Certified Driving Training School.
If you were issued a driver's license/permit/ID card in another state, and that card has been lost or stolen:
- You must provide a certified copy of your driving record or motor vehicle report from the state that issued the card.
- The MVR must be dated within the last 30 days.
- NOTE: DDS does not accept uncertified copies printed from websites, but a fax may be sent to the DDS directly from the other state agency.
- All documents must be in English.
At your visit
Be prepared to:
- Show all your documents.
- Pass a Vision Exam.
- Pass the applicable Road Skills Test.
- Take a Photo.
- Pay the license fee. See Fees and Terms for more information.
- Applicants under age 18 must bring a Parent/Guardian, Responsible Adult, or Authorized Driver Training Instructor with them to sign the License/ID/Permit form. The Responsible Adult must provide paperwork to show their relationship.
- Note: The person who signs the form has the right to request your license be revoked at any time before your 18th birthday.
- If you are 17, to satisfy Joshua's Law Requirement, the Parent/Guardian, Responsible Adult, or Authorized Driver Training Instructor will be required to sign an affidavit when you apply. The form is used to attest to the completion of the 40 hours of driving experience.
May not drive between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m, no exceptions.
During the first six (6) months following issuance, only immediate family members can ride in the vehicle.
During the second six (6) months, following issuance, only one (1) passenger under 21 years of age and who is not a member of the driver’s immediate family can ride in the vehicle.
After one year from the date of issuance, only 3 passengers under 21 years of age and who are not members of the driver's immediate family can ride in the vehicle.
At age 18, you can upgrade your license to a Class C (under 21) Driver's License. A a Class D to C upgrade can be done using Online Services or by downloading the DDS 2 Go Mobile App.
If the applicant has not completed a certified Georgia Driver Training/Driver Education course, he/she cannot obtain a Class D license until age 17.
DDS accepts out-of-state Driver Training certificates of completion from military dependents who move to Georgia within nine (9) months of their sixteenth (16th) birthday. The parent's Military Orders are required for proof of active military service.
- Teen Drivers Homepage and Resources
- For other classes of licenses, IDs, and permits: License, ID, and Permit Types.