BEGINNING ON JANUARY 15, 2023, FLORIDA WILL CHECK THE STATE-TO STATE VERIFICATION TO PREVENT ANYONE FROM HAVING LICENSES OR IDS IN TWO STATES.
IF YOU HAVE TWO LICENSES OR A LICENSE IN ONE STATE AND AN ID CARD IN ANOTHER, YOU WILL FACE CANCELLATION. THE GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF DRIVER SERVICES URGES YOU TO CHECK YOUR LICENSE STATUS AT DRIVES.DDS.GOV IF THIS AFFECTS YOU.
A Class M license or a Class M Instructional Permit (MP) is required to operate a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle in Georgia. A motorcycle is defined as every motor vehicle:
- Having a saddle for the use of the rider
- Controlled by handlebars
- Designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground
- Excluding a tractor and moped (with an engine size not exceeding 50cc).
Georgia law places all types of motorcycles or moto-driven cycles into one classification. It includes scooters, motorbikes, motor tricycles, and mini-bikes with engine size 51cc or greater.
There are two ways to earn a motorcycle license:
- You can take a Motorcycle Safety Program Course where you will receive professional training in motorcycle handling. Motorcycles are provided, and you earn a 90-day Motorcycle License Test Waiver (if you successfully complete the course).
- The second method is to apply directly at a DDS Customer Service Center (CSC). To earn your license, you must pass a knowledge, on-cycle skills, and vision test. The vision exam may be waived if a test was given and passed during the year within another issuance. You must provide your own motorcycle.
The 90-day Motorcycle License Test Waiver will allow you to bypass the knowledge and the on-cycle skills test at a CSC. For more information on the Motorcycle testing, please view the Motorcycle Operators Manual.