Skip a Step! - Cloned
How Do I Get a Motorcycle License (Class M) ?
Steps to get a Motorcycle License including testing and documentation requirements.
Applicants must be at least 17 years of age.
- Pass a Motorcycle Skills Test. There are two methods:
- Complete a Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program Course. If successful, present the 90-day License Test Waiver to a DDS Customer Service Center.
- Take the Motorcycle Riders Skills Test at a DDS Customer Service Center.
- If you are under the age of 18, you must complete Joshua's Law Requirements.
Plan AheadSkip a Step! - Cloned
If taking an Automobile, Motorcycle Skills, or CDL Road Test, don't forget to Schedule a Road Test Appointment.
Get the required documents
- You must present documentation showing your identity, residential address, and US citizenship or proof of lawful status in the United States. Your full Social Security Number must be provided on the required online License/ID/Permit Form. Please refer to Real ID Requirements for more information.
- If you are under the age of 18:
- You must provide an ADAP or eADAP certificate of completion.
- You must provide proof of school enrollment. All documents must contain the first and last name of the customer. View list of acceptable School Enrollment Documents.
- To satisfy Joshua's Law Requirement, you must bring a Certificate of Completion for the driver education course. The course must be completed at a DDS Certified Driving Training School.
- You must surrender any out-of-state driver's license, permit, or ID Card.
- If you were issued a driver's license/permit/ID card in another state, and that card has been lost or stolen:
- You must provide a copy of your driving record or motor vehicle report (MVR) from the state that issued the card.
- The MVR must be dated within the last 60 days.
- Note: A copy can be faxed to DDS directly from the other state agency.
- All documents must be in English.
At your visit
Be prepared to:
- Show all your documents.
Pass a Knowledge Exam. (if applicable)
Pass a Vision Exam.
- Take a Photo.
- Take the Motorcycle Skills Test:
- See below for taking the test at a Customer Service Center (CSC)
- See 90-day Motorcycle License Test Waiver for the waiver that exempts you from both the written and skills testing. You must bring the waiver to the center with you.
- Pay the license fee. See Fees and Terms for more information.
Motorcycle Skills Test at a Customer Service Center
The Rider Skills Test (RST) is used for both two-wheeled (RST-2W) and three-wheeled vehicles (RST-3W).
- Both tests consist of four riding evaluations that measure your control of the motorcycle and your hazard-response skills. The final two exercises involve speeds of about 15 miles per hour. Please view the Georgia Motorcycle Operators Manual for more details about each evaluation.
- You will be scored on time/distance standards as well as path violations. The test can be ended early for:
- Point accumulation
- Committing an unsafe act
- Failure to understand or follow instructions
When you report for your test, you should have:
- A DOT-approved helmet and protective goggles.
- For safety, it is suggested to wear long sleeves, long pants, gloves, and sturdy footwear.
- You must furnish a street-legal motorcycle for the test.
- You must pass a safety inspection of the motorcycle before the riding test is given.
- Bring your Motorcycle Registration/proof of ownership and valid insurance.
- If your cycle has temporary tags or was purchased within the past 30 days, you must provide a bill of sale.
You have the right to cancel the test at any time. Inform the examiner that you do not wish to continue the test. The examiner will explain the conditions for taking the test later.
- The examiner also has the right to stop the test if you:
- Fail to demonstrate basic control skills
- Accumulate more than the maximum number of penalty points allowed
- Commit any unsafe act
- Fail to understand or follow directions
- Fall or drop the motorcycle
- If any of these instances occur, the test will be discontinued.
NOTE: Testing can be suspended due to circumstances beyond the control of you or the examiner. This includes inclement weather and/or equipment failure.