Emergency Message - On April 1, 2020, DDS will be providing limited Commercial Driver Services by appointment only.
Reinstatement FAQs - Driving Under The Influence (DUI) (First Offense) Drivers Age 21 And Over
1. How long will my license be suspended if I get a DUI? (First Offense in 5 years)
A DUI suspense, first offense in 5 years, will be suspended for 12 months. However, at the end of 120 days, the driver can apply for reinstatement if all the conditions, listed below, are met.
2. Is a limited permit available?
Possibly. View Limited Driving Permit Section on the Driver's License Suspensions and Revocations webpage.
3. What are the requirements for reinstatement?
4. What is Georgia's Implied Consent Law?
The Georgia Implied Consent Law requires drivers to submit to state administered chemical tests to determine if they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If the driver refuses the testing, the driver's license will be suspended for a minimum of one year. This suspension will make you ineligible for a limited driving permit if you are convicted of a first DUI.