Skip a Step! - Cloned
Beginning July 1st, New Rules for 17-year-olds getting their Class D License.
Beginning July 1, 2021, 17-YEAR-OLDS will have to show proof of completing Joshua's Law Driving Training Requirements. For more details, visit Joshua's Law Requirements.
How Do I Get a Veteran ID Card?
Veterans ID Card for U.S. Armed Forces or National Guard
- Applicant must have honorable active duty service in the U.S. Armed Forces or 20 years of service in the National Guard.
- The veteran must be a resident of the State of Georgia at the time of application.
Plan AheadSkip a Step! - Cloned
Get the required documents
- Qualified Veterans must submit an original Georgia Department of Veterans Service for more information. , approved by the Georgia Department of Veterans Service, upon presentation of your Armed Forces Separation Papers (DD-214). The DS516 must be presented upon initial request for services. Please visit the
- You must present documentation showing your identity, residential address, and US citizenship or proof of lawful status in the United States. Your full Social Security Number must be provided on the required online License/ID/Permit Form. Please refer to Real ID Requirements for more information.
- You must surrender any out-of-state driver's license, permit, or ID Card.
- If you were issued a driver's license/permit/ID card in another state, and that card has been lost or stolen:
- You must provide a certified copy of your driving record or motor vehicle report from the state that issued the card.
- The MVR must be dated within the last 30 days.
- Note: DDS does not accept uncertified copies printed from websites, but a fax may be sent to the DDS directly from the other state agency.
- All documents must be in English.
- Activation for training purposes does not qualify an individual for a Georgia Veteran's ID card.
- Applicants with a veteran driver's license or ID card are exempt from paying renewal, testing and application fees.
- Applicants are not eligible for a Georgia ID card if they possess an unexpired driver's license from another state.
Medical Info on Driver's License or Identification Card
- Senate Bill 419 allows DDS to mark a driver’s license or identification card to show that the customer has Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) if requested by a member of the military or a veteran.
- DDS will be offering this functionality to all customers, and PTSD is not the only medical condition allowed.
- View the for more information.