CDL Medical Certification and Self-Certification Process

All Commercial Driver License (CDL) holders licensed in Georgia, may submit their Medical Certifications online. However, CDL drivers wishing to certify their driving category or make a change to their CDL Self Certification Status must submit the CDL Self Certification Form in person at a DDS Customer Service Center.

Please note that Self Certification Forms only need to be submitted once. They must be re-submitted (in person) ONLY if there is a change in the Self Certification Status.

Need Help on medical certificate rules and how to self-certify?

  • CDL Medical Certificate Help
    • If you answer "YES" to any of the questions below, your commercial driver status is EXCEPTED (E).
    • If you drive for any other reason than those listed below, your commercial driver's status is NON-EXCEPTED (N). 
      • Drive a School Bus?                                         
      • Transport for a federal government, state, or political subdivision?
      • Occasionally transport personal property (Personal use)?
      • Drive a fire truck or rescue vehicle?
      • Drive for custom farm harvesting operations?
      • Transport human corpse, sick or injured persons?
      • Drive a 9-15 passenger van (<26,001 points)?
      • Drive a non-combination vehicle controlled and operated by a farmer (no hazardous materials)?
      • Provide emergency delivery of propane?
      • Transport migrant workers?
      • Transport bees seasonally as a Beekeeper? 
      • You drive inside the State of GA only AND the cargo on your vehicle is from inside the state of GA and will not leave the State of GA. 
      • You drive from the state of GA to any other State or Foreign country: OR
      • You move cargo in the state of GA that came from another state; OR
      • Your cargo will be moved to another state or foreign country
    • You must keep your medical certification up-to-date unless you are eligible to certify into an excepted category.
    • The DDS encourages CDL drivers to keep a copy of their valid medical information with them at all times.
    • To read more about the Federal Medical Certification Requirements visit:  FMCA Medical Site.
  • Self-Certification Help

    Based on your answers above you must certify one of the four (4) following categories:

    1. Non-excepted Interstate (NI) - I operate or expect to operate in interstate commerce and am required to maintain federal medical certification. (Medical Certificate/Card Required)
    2. Non-excepted Intrastate (NA) - I operate or expect to operate only in intrastate commerce and am required to meet FMCSA driver qualification requirements. (Medical Certificate/Card Required)
    3. Excepted Interstate (EI) - I operate or expect to operate in interstate commerce, but engage exclusively in operations that qualify me for exception from the requirement to maintain federal medical certification.
    4. Excepted Intrastate (EA) - I operate or expect to operate only in a city, county, state or federal vehicle only, and I am exempt from the FMCSA driver qualification requirements.



How do I submit Self-Certification Documents? 

  • Self-Certification Documents can only be submitted in-person at a DDS Customer Service Center. Please visit DDS Customer Service Center to find the center nearest you.

How do I submit CDL Medical Certificate and/or Medical Variance Documents? There are 4 ways to submit:

  1. ​​​Submit Online:  Visit  Online Services and select the Submit CDL Self-Certification/Documents link.

  2. Fax to:  (770) 918-6271 (Individual Customers only) 

  3. Mail to the following address:

    Department of Driver Services

    Attn: RM-CDL

    P.O. Box 80447

    Conyers, GA 30013

    (Individual and multiple customer submissions)

  4. Submit in Person: At your nearest DDS Customer Service Center Location.


For assistance, please call the DDS Customer Contact Center at (678) 413-8400.