Motorcycle Instructional Permit (Class MP)

Basic Requirements

  1. Applicants must be at least 16 years of age.
  2. Applicants 16 years of age must comply with Joshua’s Law Requirements by successfully completing a DDS certified Georgia Driver Training/ Driver Education Course.   For a list of schools offering these courses, visit: Certified Driver Training Schools.
  3. Applicants under 17 years of age must successfully complete a certified Georgia Behind the Wheel Program.
  4. Pass a Vision Exam.
  5. Pass a Motorcycle Knowledge Exam.
  6. Applicants under age 18 are required to have Parent/Guardian, Responsible Adult, or Authorized Driver Training Instructor to sign the application for the permit. They also have the authority to request the permit be revoked at any time before the applicant’s 18th birthday.

Documents Required

  1. Documentation showing your identity, residential address, full social security number, and U.S. citizenship or proof of lawful status in the United States. Please refer to Real ID Requirements for more information.
  2. Any out-of-state driver's license/permit/ID cards must be surrendered.
  3. If the applicant previously was issued a driver's license/permit/ID card in another state, and that card has been lost or stolen, the applicant must provide a certified copy of his or her driving record or motor vehicle report from the state that issued the card. The MVR must be dated within the last 30 days. The DDS does not accept uncertified copies printed from websites, but a fax may be sent to the DDS directly from the other state agency.
  4. If you are under the age of 18, you must provide the following:
    1. A Download this pdf file.Certificate of School Enrollment (DS-1) must be dated within the last 30 days or High School Diploma or GED is required.
    2. If under 18 an ADAP or eADAP certificate of completion is required.
    3. If under 18 and the Download this pdf file.Parent-Teen Driving Guide was used to satisfy the 'Behind The Wheel' requirement, the session checklists, signed 40-hour Driving Log, and the Parent/Teen Driving Agreement are required.
  5. All documents must be in English.

Restrictions

  • Motorcycle operation in daylight hours only.
  • No passengers allowed.
  • No limited access roadways.
  • Safety equipment as prescribed by law.

For more information on motorcycles including education and manual, see the MOTORCYCLE LICENSE HOMEPAGE