Emergency Message - On April 1, 2020, DDS will be providing limited Commercial Driver Services by appointment only.
Joshua's Law Explained FAQs
What is Joshua's Law?
Senate Bill 226 also known as "Joshua's Law" was passed during the 2005 General Assembly. Beginning January 1, 2007, all 16 year olds applying for a Class D driver's license must complete an approved driver education course and complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian's sworn verification that these requirements have been met. Any Georgia resident who has not completed an approved driver education course must be at least 17 years old to be eligible for a Class D driver's license. He or she must have completed a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least 6 hours at night. The same verification in writing by a parent or guardian is required.
Where can I find an approved driver's education course?
Click here to find certified schools.
Who conducts the 6 hours of night training?
Parent of Legal Guardian
What if my child is seventeen years old do the same rules apply?
No, but they must have 40 hours of supervised driving (6 of which must be at night).
Am I able to get an insurance reduction when my child completes a state approved Driver's Education course?
Only a Certificate of Completion from a State Licensed School providing 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours behind the wheel instruction would be eligible for a reduction in insurance premiums.
What is the cost of a driver's education course?
Costs are determined by the schools.
Who can I contact for further information?
Ask Teen Driver
What if my child just moved in to the state of Georgia?
Any 16 year old must have taken and approved Drivers Education Course to be issued a license in Georgia. If you have taken a course out of state please contact DDS.