Emergency Message - On April 1, 2020, DDS will be providing limited Commercial Driver Services by appointment only.
1. What is a DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Course?
DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction is an intervention program mandated by law for people convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), possession of illegal drugs, underage possession of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, or Boating Under the Influence (BUI). It consists of two components: an assessment component and an intervention component. Both components must be successfully completed in order to obtain a certificate of completion.
2. What are the attendance policies for DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction courses?
All schools have strict attendance policies, which are outlined in the paperwork you sign when you contract with a school to attend one of its courses. You will be expected to arrive on time and to complete each session. Students that arrive late to any session can expect to be denied entry into class and may be required to start the course over again, at full cost. In addition, students that are absent or leave early from any session may be required to start the course over again, at full cost. It is recommended that you consider the course schedule carefully and take into account any potential scheduling conflicts you may have before signing a contract to attend.
3. How is Georgia's Risk Reduction course structured?
Georgia's risk reduction course is comprised of two components: the Assessment Component (NEEDS Assessment) and the Intervention Component. Students must complete both the Assessment and Intervention Components to receive a Certificate of Completion.
- The Assessment Component is completed first. It is a 130-question comprehensive screening instrument used to evaluate the extent of an individual's alcohol and drug use and its impact on driving.
- The Intervention Component is administered after completion of the Assessment Component. It is a 20-hour course comprised of several sessions covering several days and delivered in a group environment. The Intervention Component is designed to offer therapeutic education and peer group counseling about alcohol and drug use and its effect on driving.
4. What Assessment Components are certified by the DDS for use in the State of Georgia?
DDS has approved the NEEDS Assessment Component for use in the State of Georgia, which is a copyrighted product of ADE, Inc. It is a 130-question comprehensive screening instrument used to evaluate the extent of an individual's alcohol and drug use and its impact on driving.
5. What Intervention Components are certified by the DDS for use in the State of Georgia?
Currently, DDS has approved the Prime for Life Intervention Component for use in the State of Georgia is, which is a copyrighted product of Prevention Research Institute, Inc.
6. How do I know if a particular DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction school has been approved?
A complete list of all DDS certified DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Programs may be found on our website.
7. How long does it take to complete a DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction course?
The time it takes to complete a course depends on a variety of factors; but, in most cases, the entire 20 hour course can be completed in less than a week. It is best to discuss course schedules and any specific needs or concerns you may have with the school you choose to attend.
8. Can I obtain a refund if I am not able to attend a course or if I am late to, absent from, or leave a session early?
The decision to issue a refund or make up a missed portion of the course is a matter between the student and the school he or she contracts with to take the course. All schools have strict attendance policies, which are outlined in the student contracts you sign with the school.
9. Will the DDS accept a certificate of completion from a DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction course that I completed online?
Certificates of Completion from online DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction courses cannot be accepted by the DDS for any purposes related to an individual’s driver’s license or driving privileges.
10. What if I lose my DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction certificate of completion?
Replacement certificates may be obtained from the school where you completed the DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction course for a fee of up to $20.00.
If the school has closed, you will need to contact the DDS at (678) 413-8745 to obtain a replacement certificate. When requesting a replacement certificate from the DDS, please be prepared to furnish the name of the school you attended and the dates of the course.
Please note that DDS rules and regulations only require schools to maintain student records for a period of five (5) years.
11. Is there a minimum class size requirement for a risk reduction course?
DDS rules and regulations require programs to have a minimum of 5 paid contracts for students planning to attend a scheduled course. The Intervention Component requires a great deal of group interaction, which, according to the Prevention Research Institute, is difficult to achieve if fewer than 5 students are present. However, be mindful that there are occasions when students may fail to appear for a scheduled course. The rules do give programs the discretion to cancel, reschedule, or proceed with a course if fewer than 5 students are present.
12. Can I transfer my assessment results from one DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction school to another?
Yes. The DDS rules and regulations allow students to transfer their assessment results between schools, but only in limited circumstances:
(a) A class for which a student has a signed intervention contract has been cancelled;or,
(b)The student has moved at least thirty (30) miles away from the school that he or she contracted with to attend. The school may charge a fee of up to $25 for transferring results of an Assessment Component due to student relocation; or,
(c) There is an emergency and prior approval by the Department has been obtained.
13. How do I transfer an assessment from one school to another?
First you must locate a school that offers the class you would like to attend to confirm seat availability. Next, you will need to obtain verbal approval from the DDS. Approval can be obtained by contacting the DDS at (678) 413-8745 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding state holidays.
Once approval has been granted by the DDS, you will be required to complete the Authorization for the Transfer and/or Release of Assessment Results form.
14. How can I file a complaint related to a DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction school, instructor, or course?
All complaints related to a school or instructor must be made in writing using the official DDS Complaint Form.
15. If you have a DUI in another state or commonwealth, how does it affect efforts in obtaining a GA driver's license?
If your driving privileges are currently under suspension in another state or commonwealth based on a DUI conviction, you will be unable to obtain a Georgia license until all reinstatement requirements have been met and the suspension has been reinstated.
16. What is the cost of a DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction course?
The cost of a DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction course is set by law. Effective July 1, 2014, the total cost of the course is $355.00. This includes the Assessment Component ($100.00), the Intervention Component ($235.00), and a workbook ($20.00).
17. Does the DDS accept certificates of completion from DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction courses from other states?
It is recommended that if there is any question as to whether a particular out-of-state program will be accepted by the DDS, you should review the reciprocity list of acceptable classes from other states on our website or you may call the DDS Customer Contact Center at (678) 413-8400 prior to enrollment.
18. What is a clinical evaluation?
Laws and regulations related to clinical evaluations and substance abuse treatment providers are administered by the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD). Detailed FAQs related to clinical evaluations and substance abuse treatment providers can be found on the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities website.
19. When is a clinical evaluation required for purposes of reinstating my Georgia driver’s license or driving privileges?
Documented proof of having completed a state-approved clinical evaluation is required of all persons that wish to reinstate a suspension of their Georgia driver’s license or driving privileges resulting from two or more convictions of driving under the influence within the past ten (10) years. Laws and regulations related to clinical evaluations and substance abuse treatment providers may be found on the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities website.