Emergency Message - On April 1, 2020, DDS will be providing limited Commercial Driver Services by appointment only.
Driver Education FAQs
1. What is the difference between “driver training” and “driver education”?
These two terms are frequently used interchangeably, but refer to the same course described in Question #3.
2. Am I required to take a driver education course to obtain my Class D driver’s license?
It depends on your age at the time you apply for your Class D Georgia Driver’s License. If you are 16 years of age, you will be required to show proof that you successfully completed a driver education course approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS). In addition, you must have completed a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night. If you are age 17 or older, you will not be required to show proof that you completed a driver education course. However, you will still be required to have completed a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night.
3. What is a certified driver education course?
A certified driver education course is a course approved by the DDS. Driver education courses not approved by the DDS cannot be used for the purpose of obtaining a Class D Georgia Driver’s License. A full list of DDS-certified Driver Education Schools may be found on our website.
4. How is driver education structured in Georgia?
Georgia’s driver education program is comprised of two components—a theoretical component and a practical component. The theoretical component consists of a minimum of 30 hours of instruction, which teens can acquire either in a classroom environment or via the web through any of the DDS-approved online courses. The practical, or behind-the-wheel component, can be obtained under the supervision of a DDS-certified instructor or through use of the complimentary DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide.
There are two ways to complete each component, resulting in four methods of satisfying the driver education requirements. Please refer to the chart on our website.
5. What is a "30 and 6" driver education course?
A “30 and 6” driver education course is the traditional course consisting of at least 30 hours of instruction in a classroom environment and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training conducted by a DDS-certified instructor that coaches the student and observes his or her driving performance.
6. I am ready to apply for my Class D driver’s license. What is “supervised driving” and do I need a log for “supervised driving”?
“Supervised driving” refers to driving experience obtained under the supervision of an individual that is at least 21 years old, possesses an unexpired Class C Driver’s License, is seated next to the driver at all times while he or she is driving, and is capable of exercising control over the vehicle if necessary. No log is required for supervised driving. However, at the time application is made for a Class D Driver’s License, a parent, guardian, or duly authorized DDS-certified driver education instructor will be required to swear or affirm under penalty of law that the applicant received 40 hours of supervised driving experience, 6 hours of which was at night.
7. Can I take driver education online?
Yes. The 30-hour theoretical component of driver’s education may be taken online. A complete list of DDS-approved online Driver Training Schools may be found on our website. Please be aware that online providers may offer a variety of traffic safety courses or may be approved in other states, so be sure to register for the driver education course that satisfies the Joshua’s Law requirements for the State of Georgia. Also, remember that in addition to the 30-hour theoretical component, teens under the age of 17 must complete the practical component of driver’s education under the supervision of a DDS-certified instructor or through use of the complimentary DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide.
8. I signed up for an online course, but I’ve lost my username and password. Can DDS provide me with my lost username and password?
Unfortunately, the DDS does not have access to that information. You will need to contact the online course directly for your account information.
9. What is the 40-hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide?
The DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide is a manual that provides in-car lessons to help parents prepare their teenagers for the responsibilities of driving. The guide can be used in conjunction with a 30 hour DDS-approved classroom or online driver education course to satisfy the driver’s education requirements of Joshua's Law. The DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide is available at DDS Customer Service Centers or as a free download on our website.
10. Will I get a reduction in my auto insurance premiums when my child completes an approved driver education course?
Georgia law allows insurance companies to offer reductions in automobile insurance premiums to customers that complete a driver education course. We recommend that you speak with your insurance agent.
11. Are driver education instructors employees of DDS?
Driver education instructors are employees of the schools where they teach and are not DDS employees. The DDS certifies driver education instructors in accordance with the requirements set forth by DDS rules and regulations and the Georgia Driver Training School Act.
12. Does the State of Georgia contract with the driver training schools?
Driver training schools are independently owned and operated or offered through local schools or school districts and they are not employees of the DDS. The DDS certifies and regulates school owners and the instructors they employ
13. What if my child had driver education in another state and just moved to Georgia?
If your child is under the age of 17 and wishes to obtain a Class D Georgia driver’s license, they will be required to show proof that they successfully completed a driver education program from one of the DDS-approved schools. However, if your child has parents in the active military service of the U.S., they can use their out of state driver’s education certificate provided that it’s within 9 months of their 16th birthday.
14. What can I do if I experience problems with a driver training school or instructor?
All complaints related to a school or instructor must be made in writing using the officialon our website.
15. Who can I contact for more information?
You may submit a question or comment to Ask Teen Driver.