Emergency Message - On April 1, 2020, DDS will be providing limited Commercial Driver Services by appointment only.
1. What is ADAP?
ADAP is an acronym that stands for Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program. In Georgia, teens under the age of 18 are required by law show proof that they have completed ADAP in order to obtain their Class D driver’s license.
2. Is ADAP the same as driver’s education?
No, but some driver’s education programs have incorporated ADAP into their 30-hour driver’s education course. ADAP is a 4-hour course that most teens complete during their freshmen year of high school as part of their health, physical education, or ROTC classes.
3. What is the difference between ADAP and eADAP?
ADAP is taught in a classroom environment, whereas eADAP is offered online. Both, however, will enable teens under the age of 18 to obtain their Georgia driver’s license.
4. Can anyone take eADAP?
No. eADAP is designed only for those teens that are not able to take the traditional (classroom) ADAP course through their high school. This includes teens that were absent from school when the traditional (classroom) ADAP course was offered, have recently moved to Georgia, or are home-schooled.
5. What if I do not take ADAP?
You will not be able to obtain a Georgia driver’s license until you turn 18. At age 18 you are no longer required to take ADAP or eADAP to obtain a Georgia driver's license.
6. I lost my original ADAP certificate. Can I print a replacement certificate from eADAP?
Yes, but only if you took the course online through eADAP. If you took ADAP through your school or a make up class, you will need to obtain a replacement certificate from the instructor that taught your ADAP class