

## Georgia Department of Driver Services APPLICATION FOR COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE (CDL) LIFETIME DISQUALIFICATION REDUCTION TO 10 YEARS

## **APPLICANT INFORMATION**

Full name (Last, First, Middle)				
Georgia Driver's License Number	Out-of-State License Number (If	Applicable)	Date of Birth	
Current Address	City		State	Zip Code
Email address	F	Phone #		

# Eligibility to have a Lifetime CDL Disqualification reduced to ten (10) years depends upon the following:

- At time of application, you must:
  - Possess a valid Class C driver's license. The term "valid" means that the license is not expired and is not cancelled, suspended, or revoked.
  - Have no major traffic violation(s) for a period of five (5) years immediately prior to applying.
  - Have no more than one (1) serious traffic violation during the two (2) year period preceding application for reinstatement.
    - If you were licensed in another jurisdiction(s) in the last five (5) years, you must submit a certified five (5) year (or more) copy of your driving record from each jurisdiction.
- The Lifetime CDL Disqualification must have been imposed by the State of Georgia. If the Lifetime CDL Disqualification was imposed by another state, you will be subject to that state's laws and regulations governing Lifetime CDL Disqualifications.
- Any Lifetime CDL Disqualification you are applying to have reduced must have been in effect for a period of not less than ten (10) years.
- The following offenses are not eligible for reinstatement from lifetime disqualification:
  - Using a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) in the commission of a felony involving manufacturing, distributing, or dispensing a controlled substance; and/or
  - Using a CMV in the commission of a felony involving an act or practice of trafficking in persons for labor or sexual servitude.

## If approved:

• You will be eligible to obtain a Georgia Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP), which must be held for a minimum period of 14 days before becoming eligible to upgrade to a Georgia Commercial Driver's License (CDL).

You must complete and successfully pass all applicable knowledge and/or skills tests to obtain a Georgia CLP/CDL. You must also pay a \$35.00 application fee, a \$10.00 CDL Knowledge Exam fee, and a \$50 CDL Road Skills Test fee for each attempt.



# Georgia Department of Driver Services APPLICATION FOR COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE (CDL) LIFETIME DISQUALIFICATION REDUCTION TO 10 YEARS

If you are convicted of a major traffic violation at any time after your Lifetime CDL
Disqualification has been reduced to ten (10) years, you will be permanently disqualified from operating a CMV.

# SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS

# You MUST include, along with this application, the following supporting documents. Review the qualifications for approval on Page 1 prior to submitting:

- 1. A \$210.00 **NON-REFUNDABLE** application fee in the form of a CASHIER'S CHECK or MONEY ORDER ONLY made payable to **Georgia Department of Driver Services**.
- 2. If your Lifetime CDL Disqualification was based on a violation that was alcohol related, you must include a clinical evaluation dated within 90 days of the date of application reflecting no substance abuse treatment necessary.
  - The clinical evaluation must be conducted by a clinical evaluator licensed by the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities.
  - A searchable list of licensed clinical evaluators can be found at <a href="https://dbhddapps.dbhdd.ga.gov/MOPAS/">https://dbhddapps.dbhdd.ga.gov/MOPAS/</a>.
- 3. If your Lifetime CDL Disqualification was not based on a violation that was alcohol related, you must have completed a Defensive Driving course from a DDS-Certified Driver Improvement School.
  - A searchable list of DDS-Certified Driver Improvement Schools can be found at www.dds.georgia.gov under Locations.
- 4. A copy of your unexpired United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) medical certificate card.

## **APPLICANT'S AFFIDAVIT**

Under penalty of law, I swear or affirm that the information provided on this application is true and correct. I understand that it is illegal to make false, fictitious, or fraudulent statements on this application. I grant permission to the Department of Driver Services (DDS) to verify information furnished to the Department through the release of any and all applicant information to third parties which shall include, but not be limited to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration or other public or private entities wherein such disclosure of the information by the Department is not prohibited by law.

Applicant Signature	Date

This application, along with the \$210.00 application fee and all supporting documents, <u>must be mailed</u> to:

GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF DRIVER SERVICES ATTENTION: CDL Unit P.O. Box 80447 Conyers, GA 30013

For questions related to the status of your application, please email the CDL Unit at <a href="mailto:cdlinfo@dds.ga.gov">cdlinfo@dds.ga.gov</a>. Please allow up to 30 days to process your application. Incomplete applications will not be processed, and fees will be forfeited.