TADRA

Earning Your License

The Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility
Act established graduated driver licensing for
Georgians between the ages of 15 to 18, with three
separate classifications.

Step 1: Instructional Permit (Class CP) This permit is available
to persons age 15 and up after passing a knowledge
examination. While driving, the permit holder must be
accompanied by a licensed (Class C) adult 21 years of age or
older who is fit and capable of exercising control of the vehicle
and who is occupying the front passenger seat beside the driver.

Step 2: Provisional License (Class D) This license is issued to 16- and
17-year-olds who have held an Instructional Permit for one calendar
year and a day without committing any major traffic violations and have
passed a comprehensive on road driving test.

B A total of at least 40 hours of other supervised driving, including
6 hours at night, is also required. Individuals who do not
complete an approved driver education course must wait until
age 17 to become licensed. A driver education course is not
mandated for 17-year-olds, although it is highly recommended.

B Driver education requirements must be met prior to
initial issuance. For specific requirements, please visit
www.gateendrivereducation.com

The Provisional License has the following restrictions:

B AClass D License Holder may not drive between the hours of
12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. NO EXCEPTIONS

B During the first six (6) months following issuance, only
immediate family members may ride in the vehicle

B During the second six (6) months following issuance, only one
(1) passenger under 21 years of age who is not a member of
the driver’s immediate family may ride in the vehicle

B After the first and second six-month period, only three (3)
passengers under 21 years of age who are not members of the
driver’s immediate family may ride in the vehicle

Special Notes:

B Immediate family is defined as the license holder’s parents and
step-parents, grandparents, siblings, step-siblings, children and
any other person who resides at the license holder’s residence.

B Visitthe GOHS website (www.gahighwaysafety.org) for a copy of
a Teen Driver/Parent Agreement and also click on the “Links” to
Department of Driver Services for information.

Step 3: Full License (Class C) This license is available to persons age
18 and up if there have been no major traffic convictions for the

previous 12 months. Your Class D license must be upgraded to Class

C or you will be held to Class D restrictions regardless of your age.
Special Notes:

B The supervised driving requirement alsc applies to an initial
Class C license applicant who has not previously been issued a
Class D license.

— Your Life Depends on It!

What You

he Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA)
continues to make strides in creating safe Georgia roads
for the motoring public. TADRA directly addresses
the leading killer of our young people - traffic crashes. The
law significantly changes the way young motorists earn and
maintain the privilege of driving by providing a controlled means
for new drivers to gain experience and by reducing high-risk
driving situations. While the law does focus on young drivers,
it also contains important provisions that affect drivers over 21,
particularly in the area of DUI prevention and enforcement.

TADRA

Teenhage &

TADRA Violations

A driver can only advance to the next Graduated License
level if he or she has completed 12 consecutive months
without a conviction for any of the following:
m DUl
Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer
Racing
Reckless driving
Hit and run / leaving the scene of an accident

Any moving violation for which four or more
points are assessed

For more information:

Governor’s Office of Highway Safety
Allen Poole, Director

7 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive
Suite 643
Atlanta, GA 30334
(404) 656-6996 or 1-888-420-0767
Fax: (404) 651-9107
www.gahighwaysafety.org

Suspension of License

If a driver under the age of 21 is convicted for any of the
following offenses, their license will be suspended for at
least 8 months:

B Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer
Racing
Reckless driving
Hit and run / leaving the scene of an accident

Any moving violation for which four or more points
are assessed

Brian Kemp, Governof

State of Georgia

For drivers under age 18, an accumulation of four
more points in a 12-month period will also result in &
suspension

A first conviction for DUI in which the driver's

blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 grams of
higher will result in a 12-month suspension ;

www.nhtsa.gov

NHTSA

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
www.nhtsa.gov

www.gahighwaysafety.or )
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It is illegal for anyone to engage in any

wireless communication while driving

in Georgia

Examples of wireless communication include:
m Use of cell phone

Any text messaging device

Personal digital assistant

Standalone computer

Any other wireless device used to initiate
or receive communication with another
person

Itis illegal for anyone to write, send or read a
text message while driving in Georgia.

B A conviction for this violation will result
in the addition of 1 point on your driving
record.

ISTRACTED DRIVING:

What You Need to Know About

School & Your License
School Enrollment Required

Noindividual under the age of 18 can obtain adriver’slicense |
or instructional permit unless he or she is enrolled in a public
school, a private school or home school authorized by law;

or has graduated from high school, received a certificate of
high school completion; or has completed his or her secondary
education and is enrolled in a post-secondary school.

JOSHUA'S LAW IN EFFECT

How can [ satisfy the Driver Education

Requirement?

Method #1
30 hours of 6 hours of 40 hours of
Classroom Behind the Supervised
Instructionata 4 Wheel Training 4  Driving with
DDs approved ata DDS parent/
school approved school guardian

Method #2

30 hours of Classroom Completion of the Parent Teen
Instruction at a DDS + Driving Guide {NO additional
approved school Supervised Driving Required)

Method #3

30-hour 6 hours of 40 hours of
online course Behind the Supervised
with a DDS + Wheel Training + Driving with
approved ata DDS parent/
school approved school guardian

Method #4

30-hour online Completion of the Parent Teen
course with a DDS e Driving Guide {NO additional
approved school Supervised Driving Required)

Drivers 16 years old wanting to obtain a Class D license will need to
complete an approved driver education course at 4 licensed private
or public driver training school or other training approved by the
Georgia Department of Driver Services. A total of at least 40 hours
of supervised driving, including © hours at night, is also required.
Individuals who do not complete an approved driver education
courge must wait until age 17 to become licensed.

Urivers 17 years old wanting to obtain a Class D license will need to
complete a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including &
hours at night. A driver education course is not mandated for 17-year-
olds, although it is highly recommended.

THE PARENT/GUARDIAN MUST ATTEST THE SUPERVISED DRIVING

WAS COMPLETED BY SIGNING A DRIVING EXPERIENCE AFFIDAVIT
AVAILABLE AT THE GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF DRIVER SERVICES.

Specific information about these requirements is available at
www.gateendrivereducation.com.

Punishments for DUI conviction under
the age of 21 include:

FIRST offense: (under .08%)

A blood-alcohel concentration of 02% or greater is
considered a DU for any driver under the age of 21.

B Suspension of driver’s license for 8 monthe with no
provision for a limited permit or early reinstatement

B No nolo contendere plea
B Attendance ata DUl school

B At least 20 hours of community service, to be
completed within 60 days of sentencing

B Loss of ability to advance to next Graduated
License level for 12 months

FIRST offense:

Punishment is the same as for the first offense under 08%
but also includes:

Mandatory jail term not less than 24 hours
Community service not legs than 40 hours
Clinical evaluation and treatment if directed

Suspension of license for 12 months, with no
reinstatement prior to the end of the suspension period

SECOND offense:

Punishment is the same as for the first offenge but also includes:

For drivers 16-20 years of age, suspension of driver’s
license for a minimum of 18 months, with a provision of
ignition interlock permit after 120 days

Community service not less than 30 days
Clinical evaluation and treatment if directed
Mandatory jail term not less than 72 hours

The court will order a person convicted of a 2™
and subseqguent DU to surrender all license plates
registered in his or her name to the court

If the offender is under the jurisdiction of the Juvenile Court due
o age, the sentence will be served at a Youth Development
Center (YDC) or be placed in the Sheriff’s custody. In all cases,
the offender will be geparated from the main prison population.
Regardless of age, the judge will still have the discretion

o sentence the driver for a misdemeanor with graduated
punishment, depending on the numiber of prior offenses.

Any person over 21 convicted of DUl with a blood-
alcohol concentration of .08 or higher may be
ordered to serve a period of imprisonment of up

to 12 months, and 24 hours of i

not be suspended or probated. Tt , 5
also continue to be subject to a $1,000 fine for the

first offense

Other DUI provisions for drivers 21
and over, include:

The nolo contendere plea for DUI charges will be treated
as a conviction for all drivers

The offender will face a mandatory clinical evaluation and,
ifindicated, will have 1o complete a substance abuse
treatment program at the offender’s expense

The court will order a person convicted of a second
or subsequent DU to surrender all license plate(s)
registered in his or her name to the court

Upon a second DUl conviction within a 5-year period,
suspension of driver’s license for & minimum of 18
months, with a provigion of ignition interlock permit after
120 days

There are provisions for the offender to obtain a license
plate for any car used by other family members, and the
existence of the special tag will not be probable cause for
a traffic stop, search of the vehicle, or seizure

Buckle Up « Slow Down - Obey Traffic Laws - Don’t Drink and Drive!
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