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Instructor Transfer/Additional Certification Application 
Step 1 – Applicants must do all the following:   

Step 2 – Applicant must include the documents required for the desired certification type (see below): 
Driver Training Instructor (DT)

Application fee of $5.00 in the form of a money order or cashier’s check made payable to the Georgia Department of Driver Services 
Notarized Employment Letter (on school letterhead) signed by the DDS-certified Driver Training School owner within 90 days of applying

Third Party Examiner (TPT) 

STATEMENT OF COMPLETION 

I hereby certify that this application includes all documents and fees which are required to be attached for the approval as 
outlined above.  I understand that the average processing time for this application is 30 business days.  I understand that an 
incomplete application or application lacking the necessary paperwork will result in my application not being processed and 
may result in fees being forfeited. 

Printed Name Signature     Date 

Please mail application, fees and all required 
documents to: 

Georgia Department of Driver Services 
Attn:  Regulatory Compliance Division 

2206 Eastview Parkway 
Conyers, GA 30013 

Complete the Statement of Completion (below) and all sections of this application.
Submit a notarized DDS Consent for Background Investigation Form.

If you have been licensed in a state(s) other than Georgia in the past five (5) years, submit a certified Motor Vehicle Report (MVR) from 
each state in which you were licensed      except Georgia.

Register for a national and state fingerprint-based criminal background check using the Georgia Applicant Processing System (GAPS). 
Refer to the GAPS Fingerprinting Registration Instructions on the DDS website.

DDS Third Party Tester and Examiner Agreement signed and initialed by the applicant and all program owners 

dhartsfield
Cross-Out

https://dds.georgia.gov/document/document/tpt-examiner-agreement-0822pdf/download
https://dds.georgia.gov/regulated-programs/gaps
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SECTION 1:  Certification Information 

DT Instructor   TPT Examiner

DBA/Trade Name of DDS-Certified School/Program on Existing Certification

Address of DDS-Certified School/Program 

School/Program Certification # 

SECTION 2:  Applicant Information 

Last Name  First Name Middle Name Suffix 

Date of Birth Driver’s License # State of Issuance 

Physical Home Address City  State Zip Code County

Home Phone Number Cell Phone Number

2.1  Are you or your spouse, dependent child, dependent stepchild, or dependent adopted child currently employed with the Georgia

Department of Driver Services, Georgia Department of Public Safety, or Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Disabilities?   

 Yes   No 

2.2  Are you or your spouse currently employed as a judge, public or private probation officer, public or private probation employee or

agent, bail bondsman, employee or agent of a bonding company, law enforcement or peace officer, or employee of a court in this 

or any other state? 

 Yes   No 

2.3  Do you own, manage, or operate a private company that has contracted to provide probation services for in this or any other state?
 Yes   No 

2.4 Are you currently under a contractual agreement to provide services, or affiliated with an entity that provides services, to the

2.5  Are you a United States citizen?

 Yes   No Note:  Applicants that are not citizens of the United States must submit proof of lawful status with the application.

Georgia Department of Driver Services, Georgia Department of Public Safety, or Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Disabilities?

 Yes   No 

2.6  Are you at least 21 years of age?

 Yes   No 

City  State

Mailing Address City  State Zip Code CountySame as above

**Each applicant must provide a secure, individual email address that only the applicant can access. The Department will use this email address for 
official purposes. The applicant should check the email account during the certification process.** 

**Email Address 

☐ Check to confirm the DDS-Certified School/Program listed above can be copied on emails sent to you about this application.

Select certification type(s):

2.7  Are you physically able to safely operate a motor vehicle and instruct others in the operation of a motor vehicle as required by law?
 Yes  No 

dhartsfield
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2.8  List below the program(s) to which you are transferring your certification.  Include a separate list if more lines are needed.

SECTION 3:  Applicant Affirmation 
Under penalty of law, I do hereby swear or affirm that all the information that I have provided herein is complete and accurate.

I will maintain the confidentiality of all school/program records.

I will refrain from abusing alcohol or other drugs and from using illegal drugs.

I will maintain all reports and information as specified in the DDS rules and regulations.

I hereby authorize the release criminal history and any information necessary to DDS for the determination of my application for instructor 
certification. I understand that this information will be used only for the purpose of processing my application.

I understand that to knowingly make a false statement or conceal a material fact in this application will result in the denial of my application, the 
cancellation of my certification (if applicable), and criminal charges being brought against me. 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Signature        Date 

Sworn to and subscribed before me  

this ____day of _________________20____. 

(SEAL)

Notary 

PROGRAM NAME PROGRAM CERT #

2.9  List below the program(s) for which you are adding a certification.  Include a separate list if more lines are needed.

PROGRAM NAME PROGRAM CERT #



Georgia Department of Driver Services 
Regulatory Compliance Division, 2206 East View Parkway, Conyers, GA 30013

CONSENT FOR BACKGROUND INVESTIGATION 
OFFICE USE ONLY 

FILE NUMBER: 
OFFICE USE ONLY 

DATE APPLICATION RECEIVED: 
OFFICE USE ONLY 

BACKGROUND 
 DRIVER’S HIST

P  F 
 CRIMINAL HIST

P  F 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

APPLICANT TYPE: (OFFICE USE ONLY) 

 DUI Risk Reduction  Owner  Director  Instructor

 Driver Improvement  Owner  Instructor

 Driver Training  Owner  Instructor

 Third Party  Tester  Examiner

 Ignition Interlock  Owner/Operator

 For-hire License Endorsement

 Commercial Veh. Training School  Owner  Instructor

 Motorcycle Safety  Coach

Last Name First Name Middle Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY) 

/      / 
Driver’s License Number (Include ALL zeros) Issue date (Exam date) State Social Security Number 

Current Street Address City and State Zip Code 

Have you held any other driver’s license(s) in the 
past 5 years? 

If so, list state(s) and license number(s) Phone Number 

Yes   No 

Company Phone Number 

Address City and State Zip Code 

 Yes  No

 Yes  No

 Yes

 Yes

 No

 No

Have you been convicted of, plead guilty to, or plead nolo contendere to any crime, whether felony or misdemeanor, in this state, in 

any other state, or in the federal system within the past ten (10) years?     

Have you ever served time for any crime, whether felony or misdemeanor, in this state, in any other state, or in the federal system  

within the past ten (10) years?     

Have you ever been on probation or parole for any crime, whether felony or misdemeanor, in this state, in any other state,     

or in the federal system within the past ten (10) years?     

Do you have a charge(s) or a court hearing pending, or are you under indictment or accusation for any crime?     

If you answered “yes” to any of the above, please note the offense, date and location below:     

I hereby apply for Certification(s) to be issued by the Regulatory Compliance Division of the Department of Driver Services (DDS). I 
understand that my national and state criminal history, driver’s history, and legal presence will be checked. I hereby give consent for the DDS 
to conduct whatever investigations necessary to determine my eligibility to hold such a certificate. I understand that false, misleading, or 
incomplete information in my application or on this Consent Form may result in certificate denial, cancellation, suspension, or revocation, as 
well as possible criminal prosecution and civil action.  Under penalty of perjury, I do hereby swear or affirm that the information contained 
within this application, and any statements made in connection therewith, are complete, true and correct.  

Signature Date 

THIS CONSENT FORM MUST BE NOTARIZED 

Subscribed to and sworn before me: 
SEAL OR STAMP 

Notary Signature 

My commission expires: 

RC-900 (4/24)

Date 
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