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Commercial Vehicle Driver Training Instructor License Checklist 

 

                                                                                         
 All applicants must sign the Statement of Completion at the bottom of this page and include with the application. 

 All applicants must complete all sections of the application. 

 Submit an application fee of $30.00, in the form of a money order, certified check, or cashier’s check, made payable to Georgia 

Department of Driver Services.   

 All applicants must undergo a national and state fingerprint-based criminal background check.  Refer to the attached fingerprint 

instructions (RC-CDL-GAPS-999) for more information.  All applicants must use the Georgia Applicant Processing System 

(GAPS)  https://www.aps.gemalto.com/ga/index.htm  

 All applicants must submit a notarized Consent for Background Investigation. (Form # RC-900) 

 Submit a signed lab report by an MRO, from an accredited lab, showing the results for drug screen taken within 30 days of 

filing the application.  The lab report for the drug screening must include the results for the following substances: 

amphetamines, cocaine metabolites, marijuana metabolites, opiates, and phencyclidine. 

 Have a medical Examiner Report completed and signed by your doctor administered within 30 days of application.  A DOT 

Physical form is acceptable. 

 Submit a notarized statement from the owner of the driver training school that the applicant is or will be employed by the 

school. 

 If you have been licensed in a state (or states) other than Georgia in the past five (5) years, you must obtain and submit a 7-year 

Motor Vehicle Report (MVR) from each state in which you were licensed except Georgia. 

 The DDS will administer an instructor examination to instructor applicants to test their knowledge in Commercial Driving, 

Georgia Traffic Laws and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. Training classes will be coordinated with the Commercial 

School and CDL Compliance Specialist. 

 
           If you have been fingerprinted for any other Regulatory Compliance Division certification within the past six months, please provide the date 

of fingerprinting: _____________________   
 

 

STATEMENT OF COMPLETION 

 

I hereby certify that this application includes all documents and fees which are required to be attached for the approval as 

outlined above.  I understand that an incomplete application or application lacking the necessary paperwork will result in my 

application not being processed and may result in fees being forfeited. 

 

 

 

 

 

                

Printed Name     Legal Signature                  Date 

 
 

Please submit application, fees and all supporting documents to: 

Georgia Department of Driver Services 

  Attn:  CDL Compliance Unit 

2206 East View Parkway 

Conyers, Georgia 30013 
 

 

An application drop box is also available at the entrance of the Conyers Customer Service Center.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.aps.gemalto.com/ga/index.htm
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Commercial Vehicle Driver Training Instructor Application 
 

SECTION 1:  School Information           

 
1.1 Indicate, in the space provided below, the full name of the commercial vehicle driver training school where you will be employed. 

 

                

 
 

SECTION 2:  Applicant Information           
 

 

                
Last Name      First Name    Middle Name  Suffix 

 

                
Date of Birth     Driver’s License #   State of Issuance  Social Security # 
 

                
Home Address      City    State  County    Zip Code 

 

                
Mailing Address   Same as above   City    State  County    Zip Code 

 

                
Home Phone Number     Cell Phone Number    Work Phone Number 

 
**Each applicant must provide a secure, individual email address that only the applicant can access.  The Department will use this 

email address for official purposes.  The applicant should check the email account during the certification process** 

 

                
**Email Address  

  

 I authorize the Department to copy the employing Commercial Vehicle Driver Training School on all correspondences sent to this email address during 

the certification process.  If the box is left unchecked, all correspondences will only be sent to the provided email address. 
 

 

2.1 Have you been fingerprinted within the past six (6) months for any other DDS Program?  

       Yes   No 

 

2.1.1 If you answered “Yes” to question 2.1, indicate in the space provided below the program(s) for which you were. 

         fingerprinted and the date(s). 

 

              
 Program(s)         Date(s)   

 
2.2 Are you currently, or have you ever been, certified as a commercial vehicle driver training instructor in the state of Georgia? 

       Yes   No 

 

2.2.1 If you answered “Yes” to question 2.2, list your certification number: ________________________________________ 
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SECTION 3:  Applicant Qualifications           

 
3.1 Are you a United States citizen?   

       Yes   No 

 
  3.1.1 If you answered “No” to question 3.1, can you provide proof of lawful status to be in the United States? 

                    Yes   No 

 

NOTE:  Acceptable proof of citizenship or lawful status may be required. 

 

3.2 Are you currently employed with the Georgia Department of Driver Services?   

       Yes   No  

 

3.3 Do you have a spouse, dependent child, dependent stepchild, or dependent adopted child that is currently employed with the 

      Georgia Department of Driver Services? 

       Yes   No 

  

3.4 Are you at least 21 years of age? 

        Yes   No 

 

 

 

SECTION 4:  Applicant Affirmation           

Under penalty of law, I do hereby swear or affirm that all the information that I have provided herein is complete and accurate. 

 
I will refrain from abusing alcohol or other drugs, and from using illegal drugs. 

 

I will maintain all reports and information as specified in the DDS rules and regulations. 

 

I hereby authorize the release to DDS of any information necessary for the determination of my application for instructor certification.  

I understand that this information will be used only for the purpose of processing my application.  Photocopies of this authorization 

will be valid for the purpose of obtaining requested information. 
 

I understand that to knowingly make a false statement or conceal a material fact in this application will result in the denial of my 

application, the cancellation of my certification (if applicable), and criminal charges being brought against me.  
 

 
 

                

Legal Signature        Date      
  

 
   

Sworn to and subscribed before me.  

 

this ____day of _________________20____.     (SEAL)    

        

 

       

Notary 

        



  

  

  

  

  

Georgia Department of Driver Services 
Regulatory Compliance Division, 2206 Eastview Parkway, Conyers, GA 30013 

CONSENT FOR BACKGROUND INVESTIGATION 
 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

FILE NUMBER: 
OFFICE USE ONLY 

DATE APPLICATION 
RECEIVED: 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

BACKGROUND 
OFFICE USE ONLY 

DRIVING HISTORY  Pass  Fail 

CRIMINAL HISTORY  Pass  Fail 

APPLICANT TYPE: (OFFICE USE ONLY) 
 

 DUI Risk Reduction  Owner  Director  Instructor 
 Driver Improvement  Owner  Instructor  

 Driver Training  Owner  Instructor  

 Non-Commercial Third Party  Tester  Examiner  

 CDL Third Party  Tester  Examiner  

 Ignition Interlock  Owner/Operator   

 Commercial Veh. Training School  Owner  Director  Instructor 
 Motorcycle Safety  Rider Coach  Rider Coach Trainer  Private Site Manager 
 For-hire License Endorsement    

 

Last Name First Name Middle Phone Number 

Driver’s License Number (Include ALL zeros) DL Issue date (Exam date) State Social Security Number Date of Birth 
(MM/DD/YYYY) 

/ / 
Current Street Address City and State Zip Code 

Have you held any driver’s license from another state in Yes No 
the past 5 years? 

If so, list state(s) and license number(s) 

Program/School Name (if applicable) Phone Number 

Address City and State Zip Code 

Have you been convicted of, plead guilty to, or plead nolo contendere to any crime, whether felony or misdemeanor, in this 

state, in any other state, or in the federal system within the past ten (10) years? 

Have you served time for any crime, whether felony or misdemeanor, in this state, in any other state, or in the federal system 

within the past ten (10) years? 

Have you been on probation or parole for any crime, whether felony or misdemeanor, in this state, in any other state, or in the 

federal system within the past ten (10) years? 

Yes No 

 
Yes No 

 
Yes No 

Do you have a charge(s) or a court hearing pending, or are you under indictment or accusation for any crime? Yes No 

If you answered “Yes” to any of the above, please note the offense, date and location below: 

Offense Date City/State 

 
   

 
   

I hereby apply for Certification(s) to be issued by the Regulatory Compliance Division of the Department of Driver Services (DDS). I understand that my 
national and state criminal history, driver’s history, and legal presence will be checked. I hereby give consent for the DDS to conduct whatever 
investigations necessary to determine my eligibility to hold such a certificate. I understand that false, misleading, or incomplete information in my 
application or on this Consent Form may result in certificate denial, cancellation, suspension, or revocation, as well as possible criminal prosecution and 
civil action.  Under penalty of perjury, I do hereby swear or affirm that the information contained within this application, and any statements made in 
connection therewith, are complete, true and correct. 

 
  

Applicant Signature Date 
 

THIS CONSENT FORM MUST BE NOTARIZED 

Subscribed to and sworn before me: Seal or Stamp 

 
 

Notary Signature 

 
 

 

Date 

 

My Commission Expires: 
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GGeeoorrggiiaa  AApppplliiccaanntt  PPrroocceessssiinngg  SSyysstteemm  ((GGAAPPSS)) 
 

All persons applying with the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) to become certified in any 
of the regulated program areas listed below must use the Georgia Applicant Processing System 
(GAPS) to satisfy the statutorily required national and state fingerprint-based criminal history check. 

 
 

• Commercial Vehicle Driver Training School Owner 
• Commercial Vehicle Driver Training Instructor 
• CDL Third Party Tester 
• CDL Third Party Examiner 

 
NOTE: Fingerprint standards set forth by the Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) and 
the National Crime Information Center (NCIC) prevent DDS from downloading fingerprint 
results until a certification application is submitted. In addition, fingerprint results are only 

available to DDS for download for 30 days. THEREFORE, an approval from DDS is required 
prior to fingerprinting. The applicant must submit the required application too DDS and then 

register with GAPS for fingerprinting.  This approval will be done electronically through the 
Gemalto site by DDS after a complete application is received in the CDL Compliance 
Division. Provided the applicant has registered for fingerprinting, Gemalto will notify them 
of the registration approval and to proceed to the specified location to complete the 
process. Please understand this approval procedure cannot be circumvented. If you have 
been fingerprinted through GAPS for any DDS regulated program within the past 6 months, 
your fingerprint results may be used for any additional application(s) submitted for DDS 
regulated programs during that 6-month period. Please indicate on your application the date 
you were previously fingerprinted.. 
 
There are several locations throughout the State of Georgia that have been authorized by the NCIC, 
the GCIC and Gemalto Systems to use LiveScan devices to electronically capture and transmit 
fingerprints to the GCIC through a secure web-based environment. Criminal history search results, in 
most cases, will return within 24 to 48 hours following submission of fingerprints, decreasing the 
overall amount of time it takes for DDS to process your application for certification. Fingerprint results 
obtained from any source other than the approved GAPS process will not be accepted. 

 

Out-of-state applicants may choose to submit fingerprint cards for an additional charge of $8. 
Registration is still required through the GAPS website. Please review the “How to Submit Ink Cards” 
section on the GAPS Home page for detailed instructions. 

 
Additional information regarding the GAPS process, policies, fees, and print locations may be found at 
https://www.aps.gemalto.com.   If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the CDL unit 
at 678-413-8426 Linda or 678-413-8427 Brandy. 
 

 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

https://www.aps.gemalto.com/


RC-GAPS-999 (08/20)  

  

FFIINNGGEERRPPRRIINNTT  IINNSSTTRRUUCCTTIIOONNSS 
 

SStteepp  11::  SSeelleecctt  tthhee  GGAAPPSS  llooccaattiioonn  ooff  yyoouurr  cchhooiiccee.. 
 

• Go to the following website:  https://www.aps.gemalto.com/ga/index.htm 
 

• Click on the “Find A Fingerprint Location” option. 
 

• All authorized GAPS locations are depicted on an interactive map of Georgia. You may click on 
any location depicted on the map to obtain more detailed information about individual GAPS 
sites, including the name of the participating business, address, and telephone number. You 
may also use the Google Map feature which will show sites located near your current location 
and provide directions. 

SStteepp  22::  RReeggiisstteerr.. 
 

• From the GAPS Georgia Home page, click on the “Applicant Registration” option. This will take 
you to a page with a listing of multiple agencies. 

 

• Click on the “Department of Driver Services (DDS)” button. You will be taken to the DDS 
landing page with our contact information. Click on the “Register to be Fingerprinted” button. 

 

• Read the Privacy Rights and click the box to accept the terms. Click “Continue.” 
 

• Select your Reason Code from the dropdown box (CDL and Motorcycle Safety Coaches should 
use the DT reason codes). Complete the web form with your personal data and payment 
information. You must pay by money order or credit card. Mandatory fields are highlighted in 
yellow. 

 

• Please be advised that although the use of your Social Security Number is optional, if you do 
not submit your SSN, the GAPS location will not be able to confirm your registration if you 
forget to bring your confirmation receipt. In addition, you will not be able to print a 
replacement receipt. Therefore, you are strongly encouraged to use your Social Security 
Number. 

 

• Money orders must be made payable to “Gemalto Cogent, Inc.” and should be taken to the 
GAPS location. 

 

• Fingerprinting fees for all DDS regulated programs are $49.25. A link for the fees can be found 
under the “Fees” section at the bottom of the GAPS Georgia Home page. Cash and checks 
are not accepted. 

 

• Once all information has been entered, click “Continue.” Review your information and if 
everything is okay, click “Submit.” 

 

 

SStteepp  33::  PPrriinntt  yyoouurr  RReecceeiipptt.. 
 

• A screen appears prompting you to either print your registration receipt or email it. 
 

• If you lose your registration receipt, you can obtain a replacement under the “Reprint 
Registration Receipt” section located on the GAPS Georgia Home page. 

 

 

SStteepp  44::  GGoo  ttoo  tthhee  GGAAPPSS  llooccaattiioonn  aass  sscchheedduulleedd  ttoo  bbee  ffiinnggeerrpprriinntteedd.. 
 

• On the date of your fingerprinting, be sure to call ahead to the GAPS location you plan to visit 
to confirm their business hours, the hours they do fingerprinting, and that a trained individual 
is going to be available. 

 

• Be sure to review the FAQ section on the GAPS Georgia Home page for information regarding 
what forms of identity are required for you to be fingerprinted. 

https://www.aps.gemalto.com/ga/index.htm

