Rule 375-3-3-.24 Reinstatement Procedures for Suspensions Based on Convictions for Driving Under the Influence

Reinstatement of driver's licenses suspended for convictions under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391 will require an SR-22 to be filed and maintained for three (3) years from the date of conviction.

(1) Proof of liability insurance must be made by certification from an authorized insurance company that the violator has in effect a valid liability insurance policy covering the required time span, said certification to filed on form SR-22 as specified below.

i. Front:

(a) Each SR-22 form shall be printed so that it is substantially similar to the one shown below. Each item of information contained on each form shall be set forth in the order in which they are printed on the form. All information must be machine printed or typed. The form must be green in color.

SR-22	
GEORGIA SAFETY RESPONSIBILITY INSURANCE O	CERTIFICATE
INSURED:	
Name	
Address	
Case Number	
Driver's License Number	
Social Security Number	
Current Policy Number	
Effective From	
This certification is effective from	and
continues until cancelled or terminated in accordance with the	

The company signatory hereto certifies that there is in effect on the effective date of the certificate a Motor Vehicle Liability Policy affording limits of \$50,000/\$100,000 for bodily injury/death and \$50,000 for property damage upon a first conviction of driving under the influence, or \$100,000/\$300,000 for bodily injury/death and

financial responsibility laws and regulations of this state.

\$100,000 for property damage upon a second or subsequent conviction of driving under the influence.

<u>Year of Model</u>	Trade Name
<u>Model</u>	Body Type
Serial Number	
Motor Number	
If the space above is insuffic	cient to contain all motor vehicles
covered, prepare a list on pa	aper of identical width and attach.
Name of Insurance Compar	ny
Date	=
Ву	_
Authorized Representative	

ii. Back:

Georgia Laws 1951, Act 386, Section 7-A, Subsection (a) as amended by Georgia Laws 1956, Act 362; "It is further provided that upon an insurance company filing a certification of an insurance policy or a surety company filing a surety bond with the Director in order for the operator to show the proof required herein, such bond or certification cannot be cancelled within a period of twelve (12) months from the effective date of such certification or bond except for subsequent conviction for some revocable offense as set forth in subsection (a) of this section with the provision that the Director shall be given at least twenty (20) days prior notice of such cancellation. The Director may, in his discretion, permit the cancellation of such certificate or bond for other cause made known to and approved by him."

(NOTE: Full information as to reason for cancellation or request for cancellation of such certification or bond must be attached to the notice of cancellation, Form SR-26.)

Name and Address of Insurance Company:

<Name>

<Address>

<City, State, Zip Code>

- (2) After the initial SR-22 filing marked "Paid in Full" for a period of six (6) months, the Department will accept a premium financed SR-22 provided:
 - (a) It is clearly marked as premium financed;
 - (b) Cancellation of the policy for non-payment of premium is not allowable before the expiration of one hundred eighty (180) days from the effective date of the policy. The policy may be canceled prior to the expiration of one hundred eighty (180) days set forth above upon sufficient reason in the discretion of the Commissioner being made known to him in writing.
- (3) An SR-22 form that is not marked "premium financed" is accepted on the basis that it is paid in full. The Department will not accept a cancellation notice (SR-26) for non-payment of the premium and the policy must remain in effect for the statutorily required length of time.
- (4) The Department must be given thirty (30) days' notice by the insurance carrier prior to acceptable termination or cancellation. The Department must be in receipt of Form SR-26 at least thirty (30) days before the effective date of cancellation.
- (5) An SR-26 cancellation of coverage form is not acceptable if based on the non-payment of premiums in addition to those originally assessed by the Company.
- (6) An employer may furnish proof of financial responsibility on behalf of an employee operator and qualify such operator to operate motor vehicles for which proof is given by the employer. If the operator is only qualified to operate motor vehicles for an owner or employer, such restriction shall be designated by the Department on the license of the operator.
- (7) Upon a first conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 grams or higher, of drugs, or of other intoxicating substances in violation of O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391, the liability insurance policy shall provide for payment of:
 - (a) Not less than \$50,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident;
 - (b) Not less than \$100,000 for bodily injury to or death of all persons in any one accident; and
 - (c) Not less than \$50,000 for loss of, damage to, or destruction of property in any one accident.
- (8) <u>Upon a second or subsequent conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol</u> with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 grams or higher, of drugs, or of other

intoxicating substances in violation of O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391, the liability insurance policy shall provide for payment of:

- (a) Not less than \$100,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident;
- (b) Not less than \$300,000 for bodily injury to or death of all persons in any one accident; and
- (c) Not less than \$100,000 for loss of, damage to, or destruction of property in any one accident.

Authority: O.C.G.A. § 40-5-4, 40-5-63, 33-7-16

SYNOPSIS

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE AND MAIN FEATURES OF PROPOSED RULE

The purpose of this new rule is to align with SB 121, which passed in April 2025. It requires specific amounts of liability insurance after one DUI conviction and increased amounts of liability insurance for a second or subsequent DUI conviction.

DIFFERENCE BETWEEN EXISTING AND PROPOSED RULE

This is a new rule.