Rule 375-3-.17 Reinstatement Procedures for Suspensions Based on Second or Subsequent Convictions for No Proof of Insurance

Reinstatement of driver's licenses suspended on second or subsequent convictions under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-10 will require an SR-22A to be filed and maintained for three (3) years from the date of conviction.

- (a1) Proof of financial responsibility must be made by certification from an authorized insurance company that the violator has in effect a valid liability insurance policy covering the required time span, said certification to be filed on form SR-22A as specified below.
 - (a)1. Each SR-22A Form shall be printed so that it is substantially similar to the one shown. Each item of information contained on each form shall be set forth in the order in which they are printed on the form. All information must be machine printed or typed. The form must be green in color.
 - (i) Front:

SR-22A
GEORGIA SAFETY RESPONSIBILITY INSURANCE CERTIFICATE
INSURED:
Name
Address
Case Number
Driver's License Number
Date of Birth
Social Security Number
Current Policy Number
Effective From

and regulations of this state.

The company signatory hereto certifies that there is in effect on the effective date of the certificate a Motor Vehicle Liability Policy, affording limits of \$25,000/\$50,000 bodily injury and \$25,000 property damage.

This certification is effective from _____ and continues until cancelled or terminated in accordance with the financial responsibility laws

Year of Model Trade Name
Model Body Type
Serial No
Motor No
If space above is insufficient to contain all motor vehicles covered, prepare list on paper of identical width and paste on.
AccidentCrash No
Date of AccidentCrash
Place of AccidentCrash
Name of Insurance Company
Date
Ву
Authorized Representative

(ii) Back:

Georgia Laws 1951, Act 386, Section 7-A, Subsection (a) as amended by Georgia Laws 1956, Act 362; ".It is further provided that upon an insurance company filing a certification of an insurance policy or a surety company filing a surety bond with the Director in order for the operator to show the proof required herein, such bond or certification cannot be cancelled within a period of twelve (12) months from the effective date of such certification or bond except for subsequent conviction for some revocable offense as set forth in subsection (a) of this section with the provision that the Director shall be given at least twenty (20) days prior notice of such cancellation. The Director may, in his discretion, permit the cancellation of such certificate or bond for other cause made known to and approved by him."

(NOTE: Full information as to reason for cancellation or request for cancellation of such certification or bond must be attached to the notice of cancellation, Form SR-26.)

Name and Address of Insurance Company:

```
<Name>
<Address>
<City, State, Zip Code>
```

- (2b) After the first initial SR-22A filing marked "Paid in Full" for a period of six (6) months, the Department will accept a premium financed SR-22A provided:
 - (a)1. It is clearly marked as premium financed;
 - (b)2. Cancellation of policy for non-payment of premium is not allowable before the expiration of one hundred eighty (180) days from effective date of policy. The policy may be canceled prior to the expiration of one hundred eighty (180) days set forth above upon sufficient reason in the discretion of the Commissioner being made known to him in writing.
- (<u>3</u>e) An SR-22A Form that is not marked "premium financed" is accepted on the basis that it is paid in full. The Department will not accept a cancellation notice (SR-26) for non-payment of the premium and the policy must remain in effect for the statutory required length of time.
- (4d) The Department must be given thirty (30) days notice by the insurance carrier prior to acceptable termination or cancellation. The Department must be in receipt of Form SR-26 at least thirty (30) days before effective date of cancellation.
- (<u>5</u>e) An SR-26 cancellation of coverage form is not acceptable if based on the non-payment of premiums in addition to those originally assessed by the Company.
- (6f) An employer may furnish proof of financial responsibility on behalf of an employee operator and qualify such operator to operate motor vehicles for which proof is given by the employer. If the operator is only qualified to operate motor vehicles for an owner or employer, such restriction shall be designated by the Department on the license of the operator.
- (7g) The liability insurance policy shall provide for payment of not less than \$25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident crash, and not less than \$50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident crash, and to a limit of not less than \$25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one (1) accident crash.

Authority: Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. §§ 40-5-4, 40-5-70.

SYNOPSIS

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE AND MAIN FEATURES OF PROPOSED RULE

The purpose of this amendment is to align the rule with modern highway safety terminology.

DIFFERENCE BETWEEN EXISTING AND PROPOSED RULE

The word "accident" is replaced with the word "crash".